CIID final project initial statement

May 4, 2009 at 15:15 Leave a comment

My research has always been motivated by an interest in how technology represents itself and its functioning to human users, to avoid being a “black box”. Mechanical devices could still be intuitively understood in their working, just by watching the cogs turn; the designers of digital devices create metaphors to represent their functioning. This has usually been done by creating interfaces based on the analogy between digital and mechanical devices. I am very fascinated by the idea of basing an interface’s design on another analogy: the one between a device’s functioning and the behaviour of a conscious being. I would like to experiment if light could be a good tool to induce such analogy.
I am really inspired by Valentino Braitenberg’s research on how very simple automated agents are interpreted by human observers as conscious beings with a behaviour, motives and thoughts. If a user could be led to consider in this way a digital device, their interaction with it may be more intuitive and straightforward than it sometimes is. This may then be a way of humanizing technology and limit information overload.

This is the sort of interface I would like my research to focus on.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I want my final project to bring to a further step my personal research in the use of light as a means of humanizing technology and empowering human/machine interaction. In my graduation thesis I studied how light can be used as a tool to communicate and react to a given environment, now I would like to understand if I can use it as a tool to design an intuitive interface to interact with people.

I want my final project to represent a starting point for a wider-scoped research to be carried in the future within academic institutions, r&d labs or design companies.

Entry filed under: Statement.

Set the problem: set up the dialogue!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



